Anyone wear a suit and sling to work?

Treatments, Rehabilitation, and Recovery
atmoinet
Injury Description, Date, extent, surgical intervention etc: I was in a motorcycle accident in 2005. I C-5 through C-8 and T1, which left my arm paralyzed. I underwent surgery at the Mayo Clinic and now I can move my arm a little bit. I've had my wrist and thumb fused, my Gracilis muscle transferred and Intercostal nerves rerouted.

I'm an Army CID Agent and I currently work with the Computer Crimes Investigation Unit. I am in the process of medically retiring from the Army. I am preparing to start my Masters degree in Computer Forensics. I love computers and utilizing a computer is one of the few things I'm able to do well with one hand.

Anyone wear a suit and sling to work?

Post by atmoinet »

Hi everyone. I'm new to this forum. I would love to know if anyone here has to wear a suit and tie to work and if so do you wear a sling? If not do you just let your arm hang?
How do you wear the sling (suit jacket in sling or suit jacket draped over arm)?
Any tips for buttoning the cuff of on your TBI arm?
Do you wear a clip on tie or just keep your ties tied and re-tighten them?
Any other tips or trick?

Luckily I don't have to wear a suit every day but on the days that I do I wear a shirt and tie with an arm sling and carry my suit jacket. I tried wearing a sling with a suit jacket on and it looked terrible and was very uncomfortable. I have someone else tie my ties and re-tighten them to wear them. I also just keep my TBI arm cuff unbuttoned. It looks sloppy, but oh well.
I will soon have to wear a suit every day and I'm considering the possibility of just letting my arm hang. It's more comfortable, but makes social interaction more complicated, like when I'm carrying something and someone wants to shake hands. At least when I wear a sling everyone knows my situation. Any input would be appreciated.Thanks
MW