To The Parents of OBPI Children

Forum for parents of injured who are seeking information from other parents or people living with the injury. All welcome
Drea492
Injury Description, Date, extent, surgical intervention etc: OBPI - Birth Injury Happended to the Right Arm. No surgurys done and minimal therapy throughout my life.

To The Parents of OBPI Children

Post by Drea492 »

Hi

First off, I am 28 years old and have OBPI and had no idea that such a network was built for people with various versions of brachial plexus. I feel like I am finally not alone. I am overwhelmed by the similar feelings everyone has been going through growing up with it, dealing with the emotions of not being comfortable and learning how to be confident.

I have it in my left arm, chose to not have surgery and everyday discover that this injury can surprise you. I have played the clarinet, and performed on my flag squad in high school. I am a camera operator for my church and take various dance classes. I don't know to this day the extent of my injury b/c I have never seen a professional doctor while growing up. But I am going on to tackle another obstacle....playing the piano with the help of a brace.

I have spent a lot of time reading and one thing never occurred to me until recently was...how difficult it is for the parents to watch their kid grow up with this injury. Feeling helpless and the guilt that they could have done more. Being a good parent is all you can be. Loving your children for who they are. To never look at them the way others do while growing up. Giving them encouragement and pushing them to try anything and everything. Telling your kids that even though they can't do exactly whatever one else does but with a little adjustment they can be just as good.