My story bpi injury

Welcome Newbies! Introduce yourselves!
Weldernut
Injury Description, Date, extent, surgical intervention etc: Motorcycle accident 10/20/14 awaiting surgery total arm paralyzed nerves avulsed

My story bpi injury

Post by Weldernut »

My name is Joseph on 10/20/14 I was riding my motorcycle home when a driver Ran a stop sign. I crashed into the side of the truck. I broke all bones in my leg and ribs dislocated my shoulder on the left side. When I woke on the side of the road, I couldn't feel my arm, I thought this was something to do my trauma. About two days into my hospital stay I realized that I had something much severe a brachial plexus injury, I have fluid around my spine and have believed to have avulsed some nerves, I haven't had my surgery done yet. Before the accident I was a career firefighter and worked on welding machines. I am currently waiting for the mayo clinic to call about a second opinion. This has been very difficult for me as I am very independent at home and in life. I have moved home with my parents to help while I rehab my leg and am out of work. I am walking now and have one of dans slings. The docs think I can have shoulder abduction a bicep flexion restored through nerve transplants . I loved riding motorcycles and never thought this would happen to me. I can't believe how little information there is about this injury. This has changed my life greatly as old task become new task or even a challenge. Being independent and a firefighter I have always jumped to help others now I have to ask for help this has been the hardest part for me. I will try to update this as I progress through the surgery and in life with this injury.
jmar
Injury Description, Date, extent, surgical intervention etc: brachial plexus stretch during thoracic outlet syndrome surgery on may 18, 2010.

Re: My story bpi injury

Post by jmar »